Cape champions honoured | Cape Breeders Club

Cape champions honoured

9th Aug 2019

Thursday night saw the South African horse-racing industry come together to pay tribute to the Cape Bred and Raced champions of the recently concluded 2018-2019 racing season.
The Cape Breeders and Racing Awards ceremony for last season was held at the lavish Vineyard Hotel and once again proved a very popular and elegant affair.

Do It Again

Star of the show was dual G1 Vodacom Durban July winner Do It Again, the current favourite to be named Horse Of The Year in Johannesburg next week. The brilliant son of Twice Over was named Cape Breeders’ Horse Of The Year for 2018-2019, and also claimed the Champion Older Male and Middle Distance Horse awards (Do It Again was also named Cape Racing’s Champion Older Male and Middle Distance Horse and was also honoured as Cape Racing’s Horse Of The Year for the 2018-2019 racing season).

Thursday was also a great evening for Wilgerbosdrift & Mauritzfontein –who were named Breeder Of The Year for 2018-2019. The Wilgerbosdrift & Mauritzfontein bred Hawwaam and Celtic Sea were named Champion 3YO Colt and Filly respectively, while Wilgerbosdrift’s wonderful broodmare Halfway To Heaven picked the well-earned award of Broodmare Of The Year.


Drakenstein Stud were named the Cape’s Outstanding Breeders for 2018-2019, with the Drakenstein Stud bred pair of Gabor and Kasimir named Champion 2YO Filly and Champion Sprinter respectively (Kasimir also being named Cape Racing’s Champion Sprinter).

Cape bred thoroughbreds also dominated the Cape racing awards ceremony, with all of African Warrior (Boland Stud), Miss Florida (Nick Jonsson), Twist Of Fate (Favour Stud), Clouds Unfold (Drakenstein Stud), Do It Again, Kasimir, Rainbow Bridge (Wilgerbosdrift & Mauritzfontein), and Magnificent Seven picking up at least one Cape Racing Award on Thursday.

Cape Breeders Awards

Champion 2yo Colt
Eden Roc (Bred by Varsfontein)

Champion 2yo Filly
Gabor  (Bred by Drakenstein Stud)

Champion 3yo Colt 
Hawwaam  (Bred by Wilgerbosdrift & Mauritzfontein)

Champion 3yo Filly
Celtic Sea  (Bred by Wilgerbosdrift & Mauritzfontein)

Champion Older Male
Do It Again  (Bred by Northfields Stud)

Champion Older Female
Princess Rebel   (Bred by Favour Stud)

Champion Sprinter
Kasimir  (Bred by Drakenstein Stud)

Middle Distance
Do It Again   (Bred by Northfields Stud)

Stayer of the Year
Magnificent Seven  (Bred by James Armitage)

Broodmare of the Year
Halfway To Heaven  (Based at Wilgerbosdrift)

Stallion of the Year
Silvano  (Based at Maine Chance Farms)

Outstanding New Stallion
Captain Of All    (Based at Klawervlei Stud)

Breeder of the Year
Wilgerbosdrift & Mauritzfontein

Outstanding Breeder
Drakenstein Stud

Horse of the Year
Do It Again

Share on Social Media

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
sed vel, tempus Curabitur ut massa sit in id,
libero. nec in commodo facilisis ut luctus vulputate,