Son of Twice Over dominates Equus Awards | Cape Breeders Club

Son of Twice Over dominates Equus Awards

14th Aug 2019

Klawervlei Stud’s four time G1 winning stallion Twice Over stole the spotlight at Tuesday evening’s Equus Awards ceremony.
His outstanding, and dual G1 Vodacom Durban July winning, son Do It Again was named Horse Of The Year for 2018-2019, and also claimed the awards for Champion Older Male, Champion Miler and Champion Middle Distance Horse.

Do It Again, who has banked in excess of R8.4 million in prize money, has now five Equus titles to his name, with the Northfields Stud bred gelding also named Champion 3YO Colt/Gelding for 2017-2018.

Do It Again

Wilgerbosdrift’s outstanding producer Halfway To Heaven, whose multiple G1 winning son Hawwaam was named Equus Champion 3YO Colt last night, was duly recognised as Broodmare Of The Year, while Hawwaam’s Maine Chance Farm’s based sire Silvano (who has now been champion sire in South Africa four times) was honoured with the award of Champion Stallion.

While Wilgerbosdrift & Mauritzfontein were crowned South Africa’s Breeder for 2018-2019, Drakenstein Stud were honoured with the Equus Award of Outstanding Breeder.

In total, Cape breeders or bred horses won 14 Equus Awards!

The 2018/19 Equus winners:

Champion 2yo Filly (Distance Immaterial)

Champion 2yo Colt (Distance Immaterial)
Got The Greenlight

Champion 3yo Filly (Distance Immaterial)
Celtic Sea

Champion 3yo Colt (Distance Immaterial)

Champion Older Filly / Mare (Distance Immaterial)
Oh Susanna

Champion Older Male (Distance Immaterial)
Do It Again

Sprinter (1000-1200 m: Age/Gender Immaterial)

Champion Miler (1400-1600 m: Age/Gender Immaterial)
Do It Again

Champion Middle Distance Horse (1800-2200 m : Age/ Gender Immaterial)
Do It Again

Champion Stayer (2400m Upwards: Age / Gender Immaterial)
Magnificent Seven

Champion Broodmare
Halfway To Heaven

Outstanding Breeder
Drakenstein Stud (Nom: Mrs GA Rupert)

Champion Stallion

Champion Breeder
Wilgerbosdrift & Mauritzfontein

Apprentice Of The Year
Luke Ferraris

Champion Jockey
Lyle Hewitson

Champion  Trainer
Sean Tarry

Owner Of The Year
Chris van Niekerk

Horse Of The Year
Do It Again

Share on Social Media

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
mi, ut sit elit. Phasellus felis amet, risus eleifend accumsan
leo. accumsan ut Donec id eleifend